The List: Books I plan to buy for my future kids

I have this growing need in my heart to love my kids.

mom-and-kids-reading-book-clipart.jpg

Even as a young girl, I always knew I wanted to be a mom. I have a feeling that I have this need to love my child mainly because I craved this love from my mother. Not that she did not love me, but because we have been a single-mother household for so long she was always busy trying to provide for us that it left little time for anything else.

Reading is a hobby that I know is essential to make people more aware of the world we live in. It transports a person from his reality and opens him to more perspectives that society may not be willing to offer. Reading is something I want to instill to my future kid/s, and these are the books I want them to read:

  1. Hello, Poldy!
  2. Feminist Fairy Tales by Barbara G. Walker
  3. The Missing Piece Meets the Big O by Shel Silverstein
  4. The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein
  5. Chenelyn, Chenelyn by Raymund M. Garlitos
  6. Horton Hears a Who by Dr. Seuss (and basically the more Dr. Seuss, the better!)
  7. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
  8. Beauty and the Beast
  9. The Harry Potter Series (and all subsequent books from the franchise) by JK Rowling
  10. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
  11. Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl

I’d explain why in a separate post (though I cannot promise this huhu) because I still have a paper to do. Basically, these are books I feel would open my children’s eyes to the world and its magic. It would teach them the basics about sharing, giving, and being kind to all people even if they are different. It would open their eyes a little bigger to see magic in all things, and it would give them the ladder to step out of the box that society have placed them in. These books would give them the way out in order to conquer the horizon or whatever it is they set their eyes on. These goals hopefully lead to the betterment of humanity, even if they only affect a certain number of people, but still affects them positively nonetheless. Books are the best way to start raising future world citizens, and the best way to start is when they are young.

Leave a Reply

